CatsOnly First U.S. Practice to Open With CAETA Certification
CatsOnly™ becomes the first U.S. veterinary practice to open with CAETA Practice Certification, per a Morningstar-distributed release that confirms the milestone but leaves location, staff size and audit terms undisclosed.
Updated
CatsOnly™ has become the first veterinary practice in the United States to open with CAETA Practice Certification, according to a Morningstar-distributed headline announcing the milestone. The brief release carries the trademark names of both organizations and the "first-ever" framing, but no on-the-record quotation from either group.
What changes at the exam table?
Practice-level certification changes the unit of credentialing. Most companion-animal euthanasia credentials in circulation go to individual veterinarians or technicians, not to hospitals. Granting a hospital the seal before it sees its first patient means every clinician on staff has been trained and tested against the same protocol at hire, rather than each doctor earning the credential independently over time.
For an owner calling three clinics to compare end-of-life services, that distinction can collapse several questions into one. The trade-off is operational: the hospital has to keep every team member current as the certifying body's curriculum evolves, not rely on one or two credentialed doctors to set the standard.
What the seal covers, generally
The credentialing body, CAETA, works in companion-animal euthanasia education. Its published curriculum combines technical content — sedation protocols, drug handling, the order of clinical steps — with communication training: how a technician opens the conversation, how a veterinarian answers the question about timing, how a clinic triages a grief call after the visit.
The Morningstar item does not state which of those modules CatsOnly completed. It also does not say whether the practice-level credential adds audit requirements beyond the individual curriculum.
What the source does — and doesn't — say
The syndicated release is short. It confirms the milestone and the brand names and leaves the operational details for follow-up coverage.
- Location of the practice: not disclosed
- Number of veterinarians on the founding team: not disclosed
- Date the practice opens to clients: not disclosed
- Audit or recertification schedule tied to the practice-level seal: not disclosed
- Plans to extend the model to other hospitals: not disclosed
Practitioners weighing whether to pursue a similar credential will need those specifics. Most practice-level programs in veterinary medicine carry defined audit cycles, continuing-education hours per staff member, and re-credentialing windows. None of that detail was in the release.
Why the timing matters in the wider profession
Euthanasia training has shifted from optional continuing education to a near-default competency over the past decade. Owner expectations around pain management, family presence, and aftercare have risen. State regulatory conversations have explored whether the procedure should require explicit certification. A clinic that opens already credentialed treats the standard as a baseline rather than a differentiator earned after years in practice.
The forward question for the field is whether the credentialing body treats this as a repeatable workflow — hospitals credentialing before opening — or as a single commemorated event. The release frames it as history, which suggests the former.
A measurable next step
The clearest signal of what the milestone means in practice will come from the certifying body's next move: whether it publishes the criteria for a practice-level seal, opens applications to other hospitals, and sets out a recertification cadence. Until those appear, the headline is a first, not a template.
Source: Google News: Veterinary medicine
Elena Vasquez
Show full bio
Market editor covering money, funding and market shifts around Small- and large-animal clinical practice at The Vet Scope.


